Exhibition halls

Château Sainte-Catherine

Bought by Mr and Mrs Bassard in 2003, this former hotel-restaurant became a bed and breakfast in 2014.  Mrs Bassard, a great lover of art, later decided to convert one of the château’s outhouses into an exhibition room, giving artists the opportunity to exhibit their work and be discovered.

Tel: +33 (0)5 45 23 60 03

Route de Marthon
16220 Montbron


La Tour Saint-Jean

The ‘chapelle-porte’ in Marthon is dedicated to St Jean the Evangelist.  It is a Romanesque structure and a jewel in Marthon’s crown.  Now privately owned, it has been magnificently restored and is today a cultural meeting place, open to the public.  Exhibitions (art and photography) and concerts are organised by ‘L’Association La Tour Saint-Jean’, who work to bring it to life.

Tel: +33 (0)6 75 05 89 34

Rue Saint-Jean
16380 Marthon


Vieux château

The chateau in Montbron, as we know it today, was built during the 14th century, shortly after the 100 Years War, under the authority of Marguerite de Rohan, Countess of Angouleme.  Stone from the town’s original feudal fortress was used to build the chateau inside the ramparts.  Every summer in July and August, the town organises the ‘Estivales’, a diverse programme of art exhibitions.

Tel: +33 (0)5 45 23 60 09

Rampe de la Barbacanne
16220 Montbron


Les CARMES

Throughout the year, Les CARMES and the tourist office in La Rochefoucauld run various art projects, and every summer the main hall is transformed into a huge exhibition gallery.

Tel: +33 (0)5 17 20 55 22

39 rue des Halles
16110 La Rochefoucauld


Halle aux Grains

In 1989, La Rochfoucauld’s old ‘halle aux grains’ was converted into a cultural centre, which today includes a dance studio, cinema, media centre and exhibition hall.  Bathed in light, the hall is available to hire throughout the year.

Tel: +33 (0)5 45 63 09 85

1 rue des tanneurs
16110 La Rochefoucauld


Moulin de la Pierre

In 1995, the Moulin de la Pierre was bought by the association of local authorities of the Val de Tardoire.  In September 1997, the property was fully restored.  The volunteers of ‘l’Association Pierre et Savoir Faire’ inject life back into the mill every summer and organise other events throughout the year.  They also invite artists to exhibit their work in the mill.

Tel: +33 (0)6 30 35 15 86

Rochebertier
16220 Vilhonneur


Abbaye de Fontaine Vive

L’abbaye de Fontaine Vive, in Grosbot, Charras, is nestled in a valley, hidden from civilisation, as Cistercian monasteries used to be.  Open to the public, the abbey allows artists to exhibit their work.

Tel: +33 (0)5 45 23 02 00

Grosbot
16380 Charras


AU FIL DE L’ART

Heritage and Exhibitions

Every summer, various exhibitors gather under the name ‘Au fil de l’Art’.  The aim is to promote local heritage and bring new and different cultural experiences to the public. This results in a full schedule of exhibitions to enjoy from June to September.

Tel: +33 (0)5 45 63 07 45

https://www.facebook.com/aufildelart.16/

Lieux d’expositions

Château Sainte-Catherine

Acheté par Monsieur et Madame Bassard en 2003, cet ancien hôtel restaurant s’est reconverti depuis janvier 2014 en maison d’hôtes. Madame Bassard, amoureuse des arts, eut l’idée d’aménager une des dépendances du château pour en faire un lieu d’exposition et ainsi permettre à de nombreux artistes de se faire connaître et de montrer leur travail.

05 45 23 60 03

Route de Marthon
16220 Montbron


La Tour Saint-Jean

La chapelle-porte de Marthon, dédiée à saint Jean l’évangéliste, est une construction romane, fleuron du patrimoine bâti de Marthon. Magnifiquement restaurée, elle est devenue un lieu de culture. L’association « La Tour Saint-Jean » y organise de nombreuses expositions ainsi que des concerts, qui font vivre ce lieu unique.

06 75 05 89 34

Rue Saint-Jean
16380 Marthon


Vieux château

Le Château de Montbron que nous connaissons a été édifié au cours du 14ème siècle, sous l’autorité de Marguerite de ROHAN, Comtesse d’Angoulême. Il a été construit avec les pierres de l’ancienne forteresse féodale et intégré dans la cité entourée de remparts. Chaque été, la municipalité de Montbron y organise un programme d’expositions artistiques diverses.

05 45 23 60 09

Rampe de la Barbacanne
16220 Montbron


Les CARMES

Tout au long de l’année,  Les CARMES et l’Office de Tourisme organisent des expositions dans l’espace attenant à la salle de spectacles, ancienne église du couvent des Carmes, et pendant l’été la salle de spectacles elle-même se transforme en un vaste espace d’exposition.

05 17 20 55 22

39 rue des Halles
16110 La Rochefoucauld


Médiathèque Halle aux Grains

Depuis 1989, l’ancienne halle aux grains a été aménagée en centre culturel. Il regroupe une salle de danse, une salle de cinéma, une médiathèque et une salle d’exposition. Cette salle d’exposition vitrée baignée de lumière, peut se louer toute l’année.

05 45 63 09 85

1 rue des tanneurs
16110 La Rochefoucauld


Moulin de la Pierre

En 1995, le moulin devient la propriété de la Communauté de Communes qui entreprend de lourds travaux de restauration en septembre 1997. L’association Pierre et Savoir Faire le fait vivre pendant l’été et lors d’évènements particuliers. L’association invite des artistes à exposer leurs œuvres dans le moulin.

06 30 35 15 86

Rochebertier
16220 Vilhonneur


Abbaye de Fontaine Vive

L’Abbaye de Fontaine Vive, située au lieu-dit Grosbot à Charras, est nichée dans un vallon, loin du monde, comme les monastères cisterciens. Ouverte à la visite, l’abbaye accueille dans ses murs les œuvres d’artistes durant les mois d’été.

05 45 23 02 00

Grosbot
16380 Charras


AU FIL DE L’ART

Patrimoine et Expositions

Chaque été, les lieux d’exposition se retrouvent sous la manifestation « Au fil de l’Art ».  La volonté commune de partager un projet de mise en réseau des lieux de diffusion culturelle, de mise en valeur du patrimoine bâti et de circulation des publics, a abouti à un programme d’expositions visibles de juin à septembre.