Logo Station verte de vacances

Montbron, a rural holiday resort  

The small town of Montbron is located at the eastern end of the department of Charente, at the gates of Périgord and Limousin. Montbron is a Green Holiday Resort, so it is part of the network of municipalities that have chosen to develop a quality rural tourism for the family public. Visitors come mainly to Montbron in search of great air, calm and nature.

What is a Green Station?

A Green Station is a tourist and recreational holiday destination, recognized nationally as an organized resort, offering the services and pleasures expected in the universe nature: a nature respected and preserved, a range of stays to be declined according to the desires , Places and activities to live and share, a gateway to the terroirs. More information: www.stationverte.com

The “nature” assets of Montbron?

The geography of Montbron and its region is strong and tormented to the east where alternate in a setting of greenery, mountains, valleys and forests; The valleys are softer in the west. Between the foothills of the Massif Central and the Charentais limestone plain, the valley of the Renaudie is an astonishing valley with contrasted landscapes. The classification in “Voluntary Nature Reserve” in 2012 guarantees the preservation of this exceptional environment. Three trails are to be discovered. You may come across the yellow belly, the dipper or the loosestrife.

Montbron is a town devoted to outdoor activities: network of hiking trails, cycling loops or mountain bike circuits, canoeing on the Tardoire, fishing, golf (International Golf of the Prèze, 18 holes) but also sports activities Framed in the outdoor center of the Chambon (archery, caving, climbing …) which offer a wide choice of stays throughout the year.

Montbron is also a rich past

In the heart of the Tardoire valley, Montbron is characterized by its rich sites occupied during the Palaeolithic times. The discovery of bones in the caves of Fontechevade and Montgaudier (not accessible to the public) was able to provide the first information on the physical appearance of the Neanderthals of the Center-Ouest.

Montbron is also distinguished by its old mansions and mills which have come to life again in recent years. A charming restaurant has invested the mill of Chabrot, ideal to enjoy a terrace on the edge of the Tardoire, admire the two oak wheels that still turn and taste local products. Montbron also has a rich medieval heritage whose most notable elements are the castle, the church Saint-Maurice and the chapel of the Leper.

More information on the city of Montbron: www.montbron.fr

A diversified offer in tourist accommodation

Bed and breakfast, holiday rentals, 4-star campsite, holiday village, outdoor center … Montbron and the surrounding villages offer a wide range of accommodation options whether you are alone, with a couple, with your family or group.

⇒ Find the accommodation in our section “eating / sleeping”

Parcours dans les arbres avec le Chambon

Logo Station verte de vacances

Montbron, station verte de vacances

 

La petite ville de Montbron est située à l’extrémité est du département de la Charente, aux portes du Périgord et du Limousin. Montbron est une Station Verte de Vacances, elle fait donc partie du réseau des communes qui ont choisi de développer un tourisme rural de qualité pour le public familial. Les visiteurs viennent surtout à Montbron à la recherche de grand air, de calme et de nature.

 

Qu’est-ce qu’une Station Verte ?

Une Station Verte est une destination touristique de loisirs et de vacances, reconnue au niveau national comme une station organisée, offrant les services et les plaisirs attendus dans l’univers nature : une nature respectée et préservée, une gamme de séjours à décliner selon les envies, des lieux et des activités à vivre et à partager, une porte d’entrée des terroirs. Plus d’information : www.stationverte.com

Les atouts « nature » de Montbron ?

La géographie de Montbron et sa région est forte et tourmentée à l’Est où alternent dans un écrin de verdure, monts, vallées et forêts ; les vallonnements sont plus doux à l’Ouest. Entre les contreforts du Massif central et la plaine calcaire charentaise, la vallée de la Renaudie est une vallée étonnante aux paysages contrastés. Le classement en « Réserve Naturelle Volontaire » en 2012 garantit la préservation de ce milieu exceptionnel. Trois sentiers sont à découvrir. Vous croiserez peut-être le sonneur à ventre jaune, le cincle plongeur ou la salicaire.

Montbron est une ville tournée vers les activités de plein air : réseau de sentiers de randonnée pédestre, boucles vélo ou circuits VTT, canoë-kayak sur la Tardoire, pêche, golf (Golf international de la Prèze,18 trous) mais aussi des activités sportives encadrées au centre de plein air du Chambon (tir à l’arc, spéléologie, escalade…) qui proposent un large choix de séjours tout au long de l’année.

 

Montbron, c’est aussi un riche passé

Au cœur de la vallée de la Tardoire, Montbron se caractérise par sa richesse en sites occupés durant les temps paléolithiques. La découverte d’ossements dans les grottes de Fontéchevade et de Montgaudier (non accessibles au public) a pu fournir les premiers renseignements sur l’aspect physique des Néandertaliens du Centre-Ouest.

Montbron se distingue aussi par ses manoirs anciens et ses moulins qui reprennent vie depuis quelques années. Un restaurant de charme a investi le moulin de Chabrot, l’idéal pour apprécier une terrasse au bord de la Tardoire, admirer les deux roues en chêne qui tournent encore et déguster des produits locaux. Montbron possède également un riche patrimoine médiéval dont les éléments les plus remarquables sont le château, l’église Saint-Maurice et la chapelle des Lépreux.

Plus d’informations sur la ville de Montbron : www.montbron.fr

Une offre diversifiée en hébergement touristique

Chambres d’hôtes, locations de vacances, camping 4 étoiles, village de vacances, centre de plein air… Montbron et les communes alentour offrent un large choix en prestations d’hébergement que l’on soit seul, en couple, en famille ou en groupe.

⇒ Retrouvez les hébergements dans notre rubrique « manger/dormir »

Parcours dans les arbres avec le Chambon