The famous Charentaise slipper

affiche la pantoufle du docteur JEVA
  • A bit of history

During the reign of Louis XIV in the 17th century, the Charentaise slipper was created as a way of using the leftover material from the uniforms of the Royal Marines, as well as the felt used in the paper mills around Angoulême.  The original Charentaise slipper was designed for comfort.  Inserted into clogs, there was no left or right foot.  The slipper’s tongue was there to protect the top of your foot against the hard wood.  In the 18th century domestic servants used the slippers to clean and polish wooden parquet floors. Known colloquially as ‘silencieuses’, servants used them to move around discreetly.

It wasn’t until 1907 that Théophile Rendinaud, shoemaker in La Rochefoucauld, created a more modern version of the slipper in its traditional tartan fabric.

  • Le ‘cousu-retourné’?

This technique is what characterises the genuine Charentaise slipper with its original felt sole, which is sewn into the slipper inside out and is then turned the right way around.  This method is still used today.

  • The Charentaise slipper today

The famous slipper has managed to keep up with modern trends.  The tartan fabric is still favoured, but the slipper has been redesigned, with brighter colours and patterns to suit a younger market.  New shapes and fabrics have kept it modern but importantly the original slipper remains just as soft.

Where is the Charentaise slipper made?

Two local factories make the Charentaise slipper:

  • Rondinaud in Rivières (Entreprise du Patrimoine Vivant)
  • Degorce factory in Marthon (certified as a genuine product of France).

 

Rondinaud Chaussures

Where to buy them?

La Rochefoucauld: Maison Rondinaud, 43 rue des Halles

open Tuesday to Saturday from 9.30am to 7pm (closed for lunch from 12pm to 2.30pm)

You can also buy online at www.rondinaud.com

Marthon : the Degorce factory shop, route de Grassac

open Monday to Friday from 9am to 4pm (closed from 11.30am to 2pm)

You can also buy online at www.degorce.com

Top Tip

  • Tours of the Degorce factory are available for groups of a minimum of 10 people.  Tel: +33 (0)5 45 70 23 66.
  • In the neighbouring Dordogne Department, just a few kilometres from Marthon, the château in Varaignes is a workshop and also a museum about the Charentaise slipper in particular, and weavers in general.  For more information, please contact the tourist office in Varaignes on +33 (0)5 53 56 35 76.

La Charentaise, la célèbre pantoufle

affiche la pantoufle du docteur JEVA
  • Un peu d’histoire

La Charentaise fut créée au 17ème siècle, sous le règne de Louis XIV, pour utiliser les excédents de fabrication des tisserands locaux qui travaillaient pour la confection des uniformes de la Marine Royale et les feutres de réforme des papeteries de l’Angoumois. A ses débuts, la pantoufle sans pied gauche ni pied droit se glisse dans le sabot pour améliorer le confort, la languette protégeant le cou-de-pied du contact du bois. Les gens de maison au 18ème siècle s’en servent pour entretenir et lustrer les parquets. Baptisées « silencieuses », les valets les utilisaient pour se déplacer sans faire de bruit.

C’est en 1907 que Théophile Rondinaud, cordonnier à la Rochefoucauld, crée la charentaise contemporaine au « dessus écossais ».

  • Le cousu-retourné ?

Cette technique représente tout le savoir-faire de la véritable charentaise à la semelle de feutre. La semelle est cousue et montée à l’envers avant d’être retournée. Et ce procédé se perpétue au travers des nouveaux modèles.

  • La charentaise d’aujourd’hui

La célèbre pantoufle a su évoluer avec son temps. Même si le motif écossais a toujours sa place, la charentaise est « relookée », elle revêt désormais des couleurs vives et des motifs plus tendance et conquiert ainsi un nouveau public. De nouvelles formes et de nouvelles matières transforment la Charentaise, mais tout en conservant son côté « douillet ».

Où la charentaise est-elle produite ?

Deux entreprises sur le territoire de La Rochefoucauld Porte du Périgord produisent des charentaises, toutes deux ont reçu le titre d’Entreprise du Patrimoine Vivant et la certification « Origine France Garantie » :

  • Rondinaud à Rivières
  • Manufacture Degorce à Marthon 

 

Rondinaud Chaussures

Où acheter la Charentaise ?

La Rochefoucauld : Maison Rondinaud, 43 rue des Halles – du mardi au samedi 9h30-12h00 / 14h30-19h

boutique en ligne : www.rondinaud.com

Marthon : magasin d’usine Degorce, route de Grassac – du lundi au vendredi 10h-12h / 13h30-16h30

boutique en ligne : www.manufacturedegorce.com

Bon à savoir

  • Visites guidées de la manufacture Degorce (10 pers maxi), le mercredi de 14h à 16h sur réservation (2€ par personne) – 05 45 70 23 66.
  • Côté Dordogne, le château de Varaignes abrite l’atelier-musée des Tisserands et de la Charentaise, qu’il est possible de visiter (informations Office de Tourisme de Varaignes 05 53 56 35 76).